Diploma Programme
Introduction to IB

The International Baccalaureate (IB) is an International Educational foundation with its headquarters located in Geneva, Switzerland. It was founded on 25th October, 1968 by John Goormagtigh.

It offers four educational programmes, namely, the IB Primary Year Programme (PYP) for children aged3-12 years, the IB Middle Years Programme (MYP) for children in the age group of 11-16 years, the IB Diploma Programme (DP) for children aged 11-16 years and lastly, the IB Career-related Programme (CP) for children in the age group of 15-19 years.


The IB Diploma programme was the first programme offered by the IB. The curriculum comprises of the DP Core and Six subject groups with different courses under each of the groups. A student is expected to take at least three (but not more than four) subjects at higher level, and the rest at standard level. Standard level (SL) subjects take up 150 teaching hours and Higher Level (HL) comprises 240 teaching hours. The curriculum helps students develop an in-depth knowledge of their chosen subjects and equips them with different skills required for the 21st Century.

Please visit the IB website to explore further


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Open chat
How can I help you?